Traitors Gate, a novel by Anne Perry

Traitors Gate

a novel by Anne Perry

PRICE : IDR 75.000,- (NEW, Hardcover)

  • Hardcover: 411 pages
  • Publisher: Fawcett Books; First Edition edition (Mar 1995)
  • Language English
  • ISBN-10: 0449906345
  • ISBN-13: 978-0449906347
  • Product Dimensions: 24.1 x 16.3 x 3.6 cm

Synopsis:

The first features Thomas Pitt of the London Police and his wife Charlotte. It begins in 1881 with The Cater Street Hangman in which they meet and fall in love. Pitt comes from a humble background and Charlotte is much above his station. Charlotte loves him enough to sacrifice her social and financial comfort for the harder, but far more interesting life he offers her, and by the second novel they have been married… She becomes involved in most of Pitt’s cases, lending a feminine view, acute observation, and the ability to mix in wealthy and aristocratic circles where Pitt would not be accepted. Pitt has become superintendent of The Bow Street Station and many of his cases involve high society, glamorous, controversial and politically sensitive issues, and social scandals. The twentieth book, Half Moon Street, is set in 1892 in the heyday of Empire. Intermingled with the wit and daring side of Victoriana is always there — extreme poverty, social evils and injustices — as it is in the William Monk series.

Publisher Comments:

“In combination with her meticulous research, Ms. Perry’s infallible feeling for the historical moment yields animated political debate over the colonization of Africa, glittering views of Victorian society at play and tantalizing glimpses of a confident, assertive creature known as the ‘new woman.'”<BR>–The New York Times Book Review<BR>Someone in the Colonial Office is passing secrets to Germany about England’s African strategy. While Police Superintendent Thomas Pitt investigates this matter of treason, he is quietly looking into the tragic “accidental” death of his childhood mentor, Sir Arthur Desmond. Pitt believes he was murdered, and that the crime is connected with the treachery in the government. He is making little progress, until a second murder reverberates through London.<BR>In the small hours of a May morning, a Thames waterman finds the strangled body of an aristocratic society beauty floating near lonely Traitors Gate. Only then do hard-pressed Pitt and his clever wife, Charlotte, begin to untangle the threads of passion and intrigue, to see clearly the pattern of tragedy and frightening evil that Pitt must deal with, at the risk of his career–and his life.<BR>”In the tradition of Margaret Millar and Ruth Rendell, Perry saves her largest, tastiest revelation for the very last paragraphs.”–Los Angeles Times
“First rate. . . The saga of Charlotte and Thomas is always a delight.”–Mostly Murder

Tinggalkan komentar

Filed under Novels

Tinggalkan Balasan

Isikan data di bawah atau klik salah satu ikon untuk log in:

Logo WordPress.com

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Logout / Ubah )

Gambar Twitter

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Logout / Ubah )

Foto Facebook

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Logout / Ubah )

Foto Google+

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Logout / Ubah )

Connecting to %s